Disabled Veteran's Annual Camping Pass
The legislature granted Disabled Veterans (DAV) the right to receive one Alaska State Park Camping Pass free of charge (AS 41.21.026(d)). The DAV Camping Pass, which is valid in all developed Alaska State Park campgrounds, is good for two years. There is no DAV pass for boat launch or day use, nor can the DAV camping pass be used to purchase a boat launch or day use pass.
To receive a free DAV camping pass, an eligible disabled veteran must normally present, in person, proof of a service connected disability at either the Anchorage or Fairbanks DNR Public Information Centers (see below). However, due to the risk of COVID-19 exposure, please contact the Public Information Center at 907-269-8400 ahead of time to coordinate a digital verifcation if possible.
Evidence of service connected disability can be provided by presenting either:
- a Veteran's Administration Patient Data Card (red, white, and blue) imprinted with "service connected disability" under the photo identification, or
- a current year letter from the US Department of Veteran's Affairs, which states the person has a service-connected disability and is signed by the Veteran Services Officer AND a photo ID.
Other types of VA cards exist, but cannot be accepted as proof of disability. Information on obtaining either the card or the letter can be found through the local Veteran's Administration office or calling 1-800-827-1000. Please note: A Veterans Universal Access Identification card with the veteran's social security number and birth date printed on the card will no longer be accepted, in compliance with the Personal Information Protection Act which passed the Alaska Legislature in 2008.
The Disabled Veteran camping pass is non-transferable. If the qualified DAV's vehicle is sold, the decal must be removed. Or, if the windshield is broken and must be replaced, the individual is requested to scrape as much of the decal off as possible and return the remains to any area office. In either of these cases, a replacement decal will be issued for $10 upon receipt of the removed decal. If the decal is lost or if no remains of a previous decal can be produced, and the DNR has record of the owner's previous issuance of the DAV decal, a one-time replacement decal may be purchased for $100.
For further information, please contact the Anchorage or Fairbanks Public Information Center.
Return to Alaska State Parks Fee page.